Worms and Birds

IMG_9364
Birds View: ISO 800- 1/250- F5.6: To take this photograph, I wedged myself and my camera in between small branches of a tree and imagined a bird perched upon one of the branches. Although there are still trees in the pathway of its view, a bird is still able to see the overall picture due to it’s position high above the ground. I decided to keep one of the branches in the viewfinder but the foreground is blurry and the background is truly the main focus of the photograph. Working with natural lighting as the sun was beginning to set was a bit rough and made me worry about the quality of the photos I was taking  but after looking at the histogram, I realized that I was properly controlling the exposure
IMG_9390
Worms View: ISO 800- 1/125- F6.3 : Thanks to aperture, I was able to get this shot of what I believe the view of a worm would be. Compared to a bird that is considered to be “all seeing” due to it’s position high above the trees or even in the sky, I loved that the subject stands out and the rest of the photo is blurred. This gives off the impression that a worm can only see so far in front of itself.  In this situation, I decided to underexpose just a bit due to the fact that it is better to underexpose by one stop than to overexpose. By using the histogram on this image, I could see that there were very few spots of pure black as well as lots of mid-tones.
IMG_9346
ISO 100- 1/2500- F5.6: This is the shot I got when I quickly turned on my camera and tested out my idea for my first “worm” shot. I feel that this photo definitely focuses more on the shadows and lost a lot of its highlight value. However, I believe that this photo is pleasing to the eye due to the fact that it’s so under exposed. If the highlights in this photo were exposed just a tad bit more to where you could see a bit of whats going on in the background rather than the darkness, I definitely would’ve used this photo for my actual worm photo.
Leave a Reply

